Giving Up Is Not An Option

Most of my family and friends know that I have a passion for books. Paper backs, hardcover, electronic; it doesn’t really matter to me. It can be fiction, nonfiction, reference books, or, depending on the person, a biography. I am not picky as long as I can read it.
The point of me telling you this is that I have always wanted to make a career out of something that would keep me surrounded by my first true love…BOOKS! I also needed it to be something I could do from where ever I happened to be at the time. Well, after months of looking for it, I found just such a job! I say “months”, but it was closer to a year.
Have you ever had a period of time in your life when it just seemed like everything was working out the way it needed to without much pushing or shoving from you? I seem to be in the middle of one of those times. Okay, so now that I have grabbed your curiosity, let me tell you what my new job is, (drum-roll, please), I am officially an editor for a publishing company! Yay, me!!!!
After all the time I spent researching how to become an editor or proofreader, how to write a book, and everything in between, I was chatting with one of my friends on Facebook and was telling her what I was looking for and then asked if she had any suggestions. That’s when she told me about World Castle Publishing. Mind you, I have no experience as an editor, just a love for grammar and spelling.
I sent an e-mail to the owner and explained that I would love to become an editor and that I had the program on my computer to edit and proofread documents.
I want you to know that the precious woman decided to give me a chance! I have never been so happy in my life! When I received the e-mail from her saying that she would be more than happy to give me a chance, I screamed and shouted like I had just won the lottery. That one e-mail made all the days and frustrating dead ends worth it to me. If I had given up even one second before, I would never have gotten this opportunity.
It’s not just about being able to make a little money from home; it’s about having a chance to make money from home doing something that I love and being given the chance to ‘meet’ some really great people. So far, I have finished one book and am working on a second. Both of the authors are wonderful and friendly and also extremely talented.
Following this post, I will be writing separate posts on each author and doing a review of both of the books. I hope to do a post about World Castle Publishing, (WCP), and its owner. I would like to talk about how and why WCP was started and talk about what it can offer its authors that other publishing companies can’t or won’t provide.
The moral in this post is this; others may tell you that what you want is silly or hopeless, that it isn’t a viable plan or that it will never happen. DO NOT LISTEN!!! Your dreams are never silly or hopeless. DO NOT give up because giving up is NOT an option. With patience, perseverance, and more than a little stubbornness, you can and will succeed! Keep going it’s worth it in the long run.
I hope that anyone reading this takes something away with them. Giving up on a dream is a sad, sad thing, especially when the payoff may be just an e-mail away.
Leave a Reply

