What Do You See in the Mirror?

I have been struggling for a while with the issue of my weight. I have gained a significant amount of weight in the last two years. I started to jokingly refer to it as “happy fat” because I had finally settled down and was happy with my life. The joke is over now, though. I do need to lose a few pounds because I am not at a healthy weight, but I do not have to starve myself or look like I have anorexia to be pretty. It’s hard to have a healthy self-image when, every time you turn on the television, all you see is stick thin actresses and/or models.  I know plenty of naturally thin women but the point is that I shouldn’t struggle to look like them because everyone is built differently. Young girls need to have a positive attitude and a healthy self-image. Remind all the young girls in your life that they are beautiful no matter what size they are. 
Here is a picture of Marilyn Monroe, one of America’s most beautiful women. Notice the caption:
I found this photo on Facebook. It is not mine I just used it to prove a point.
3 thoughts on “What Do You See in the Mirror?

  1. virg_nelson says:

    I struggle with weight…And I am trying to differentiate between 'healthy for me' and 'what tv says I should be.' I want to lose weight but I tend to keep very quiet about my attempts… Because I hate it when people tell me how much 'better' I look. I don't honestly care about that… I want to be healthy, not fit your image of what you think I should look like based on Victoria's Secret ads…

  2. Hi BethGreat post! I have struggled w/ my weight allmy life, too. A study documented that after 10 minutes of looking at a women's magazine, females became depressed. We have such absurd expectations imposed on us of what is "pretty!" Look in the mirror each day & say: "I am beautiful!" You are!Sharon

  3. Beth Price says:

    Thanks for the comments. I wrote this post today because I noticed that when I watch a t.v. show or open a magazine, it seems that my mind amplifies all of my flaws. I am the heaviest I have ever been and am trying to lose some of that weight, but I have to remind myself that it isn't all about the weight. I am a good person and have an outstanding mind. I worry about how young girls, who aren't sure about themselves, feel when they see what society's standards of beauty are. You have both made excellent points, thanks again.

Leave a Reply

